Inktober 27 – Nelson Mandela’s Walk to Freedom

Inktober027

Fighter for freedom and against anti-apartheid, civil rights activist, prisoner, president, philanthropist and Father of a Nation. Nelson Mandela looms large in the history of the modern era as someone who inspired and continues to inspire a generation. Fighting for the civil liberties and equality for all people regardless of race, religion, gender, etc. Nelson Mandela is in many ways more than the Father of a Nation, but a Father of Equal right. It’s such a shame that despite his shining example we still see people discriminated against because of the colour of their skin, their beliefs or generally who they are. Nevertheless, it seems only right to commemorate 25yrs since Nelson Mandela was released from prison and was able to undertake one of his many walks to freedom. Let’s hope one day everyone can do the same.

Phil

*******************

Postscript: I’m reasonably happy how this one turned out. Of course, I doubt many people, if you showed them this picture would say “That’s Nelson Mandela!” probably more “That’s Nelson Mandela?” Nevertheless, it’s the best I can do. Having said that, I really felt the pressure, when drawing this, to get it as good as I possibly could, purely because Nelson Mandela deserved it. I suppose what I’m trying to say is that because of what a great man he was I felt that he deserved nothing but my best efforts. It gave me a lot of respect for people who make a living from drawing famous people’s portraits!

Leave a Reply

