The Adventures of Ninja Phil II – Ep 7 – The Nightmare General Election

Blog #49 - 01.03.2015

May 7th 2015.

An ominous day in UK politics. Let’s be honest, last time it was a nightmare for me to make a decision and well things aren’t looking any better this year. That’s not to say I’m one of those, “well I can’t choose, I’ll just not bother”. But it does mean there’ll be a fair bit of umming and ahhing between now and the big day and here’s why…

Conservatives: Now while I’m not totally adverse to what the Tories have done over the last Parliament, my traditional political leanings always make me sceptical about voting Conservative. I also feel  that I think I’ve had about as many cuts as I can take. Wouldn’t some spending be nice? Certainly on the NHS; undoubtedly on the NHS. But, I suppose this is my real issue, Cameron I can just about put up with, but there’s something untrustworthy about Osbourne (probably because he looks like the child-catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang). Perhaps if I felt that my local Tory MP was a great guy it might swing it for me but he’s been as good as invisible for the last 5 years as far as I’m concerned. So I’m really not convinced, really not convinced (did I say I wasn’t convinced?)

Labour: So I know you shouldn’t make your decision on a party leader’s personality/charisma, but Milliband? The fact is that he looks like a character from Wallace and Gromit and I have about as much confidence in him as a chocolate teapot. This lack of confidence isn’t helped by the fact that as it stands at the moment, should he become PM Ed Balls would be Chancellor… now that’s a terrifying thought (all the papers would love it for the ready made headlines). That aside, some of the talk seems encouraging. But still talk and action are too very different things. I mean £6000 uni tuition fees sounds nice for students, but as someone looking for jobs in a university sector already strapped for cash, reducing the amount of potential income from students (without any real plan for paying for it) makes me worried. So nice, but not sure they can deliver. (Local candidate slightly less AWOL than Tory one, but not much).

Libdems: I don’t have much to say regarding the Libdems, I think this video really sums up my abiding memory of them this parliament…

One thing I will say is if I lived in the Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency, I’d be voting Libdems. Not because I particular support their policies (or disagree), but because Tim Farron (the Libdem MP there) is epic. I think a lot of the problems us undecided voters have would be resolved if we were able to pick from  local MPs who were obviously representing their constituencies and were just genuinely good MPs.  Farron’s the sort of MP that could change parties every week and I’d still vote for him, because it shouldn’t always be about party loyalty but about getting the MP that’s right for you.

Green: On that subject, the Green party candidate seems to have the greatest visibility of all for my constituency (although I did get a flyer from Libdem one today). The problem with this is that visibility doesn’t necessarily mean a good candidate (Farage is a case in point). The problem with the Green’s is that it’s hard to get away from the image that they’re a Hippy political party (a bit unfair but the only way I can think to put it). In the same way…

UKIP: It’s hard to get away from the fact that these guys aren’t just a bunch of xenophobes. That aside, policy wise, my feeling is there’s not much to choose between these guys and the Tories and well if I’m not sure about voting Conservative then I’ll definitely not be interested in UKIP… even if Farage makes for entertaining (if cringe-worthy) TV.

So that should leave me with one choice…

The Monster Raving Loony Party.

Sadly they’re not standing for election in my constituency, meaning I’ve got to make a choice. It’ll be by no means easy but I’ll choose nonetheless. Whatever box gets crossed though, one thing I am certain of is that just like back in 2010 the result was hotly contested, this year’s election will be equally exciting, especially once you throw the likes of SNP and Plaid Cymru into the potential mix of coalitions. Now that’s a real Nightmare!!

Looks like a all-nighter on election night for this undecided voter…

Phil

**********************

Postscript: So I’ve waded into the icy waters of politics. Feel free to let me know what you think, although please keep it civil, remember I’m an undecided voter, so don’t alienate me with your undiplomatic overtures. I’ll be talking a little more about politics in the run up to the General Election, but I’ll try my best not to make things too heavy. After all, this is a comic about a Ninja who fights Pirates with his Superhero friends!

I apologise as well for not thinking about the effect drawing a comic twice as wide as normal would have on it fitting on the site. If you’re struggling to read it just click the image for the full view.

 So I really wanted this week’s comic displayed in all its glory, so I’ve made some tweaks to the page. You’ll now find the Archives etc. at the bottom of the site now. If you preferred the old set up let me know.

Leave a Reply

